I try to wake up each morning at 6a. I usually fail miserably. But here's a poem inspired by the few times I've succeeded!

Hark! I'm called through early dark to join the ancient choir,
to trumpet solar steeds before a chariot of fire.
I summon Dawn with shutters drawn, with sleep stuck in the corners - 
Now here she comes, the promised one, still fresh and rosy fingered.

I'll awake her with a gentle kiss,
whispering sweet nothings into the mist;

Oh, morning.

At the brown brink eastward springs, through the prisms skyscraping,
a rainbow. Awake my soul to sing.
A step to the street and down the block, downhill along the fence I walk;
Around the bend, down many steps, along the fence, up to the park.

With no entrance I threaten to intrude
because it's there I see the Spirit brood.

Oh, morning.

Over the bent world, with warm breast and with bright wings,
the Holy Ghost waves from her post across the black chain links.
But in this oasis prison it's the desert that's the fraud;
I barge to where the world is charged with the grandeur of God.

I sit amidst the trees and lift my face;
the Light and choir help me fill the space -

Oh, morning.

Click here for a blog entry from March, 2011 which is not quite so cryptic. Haha..
Kris Smith
7/28/2011 02:24:12 pm

This poem is so beautiful, it gives me a new outlook on waking up at 5 am every morning :)

Reply
Jenny G
7/28/2011 03:45:24 pm

I read your brief bio and then this blog. I enjoyed it thoroughly and would like to continue to read it. Like you, I write about injustices, especially re children, but I have never blogged or tweeted; I've only used email and snail mail. That certainly dates me a lot. I'm a 67 year-old grandmother who has a 25 year-old spirit, and I'm very active raising a granddaughter, riding horses, writing, riding my granddaughter's bike every evening for exercise, and building a counseling practice, and hoping to self-publish on the internet as well as in print. I believe I was the first female Vista volunteer stationed in Harlem in 1965.

Your blogs have made me want to learn to blog, I think you are the embodiment of a true CITIZEN on planet Earth, of what we are supposed to teach our children: To love always in all ways; take only what we need; give a lot; pray often (as Brother Lawrence says in his book, , PRACTICING THE PRESENCE OF GOD); and laugh, cry, and rejoice alone and with others as often as we can! I'm very proud of you and I'm honored to have come across your blog. I will continue reading them and learn.

Reply
Jenny Genevieve
7/28/2011 04:16:04 pm

Did you get my long comment. I don't know if I hit the submit button at the bottom. Also, are you weebly or is weebly your site. I'm a bit confused about this. (I really hope you got my comment a little bit ago. It took me an hour I think to write it.).

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.